Zur Deutschen Version

Subject classification system

The official higher education statistics use two subject classifications which do not differ fundamentally in terms of the structure of the recorded subjects. Both classifications use three levels.

The student and examination statistics use a classification of academic subjects based on the study and examination regulations. This covers 291 academic subjects. Contentually related academic subjects are grouped together into 60 study areas and contentually related study areas into 9 subject groups.

The staff and positions statistics drawn from the official German higher education statistics use a subject area classification that has been derived from the science and research disciplines and not only contains subject elements, but also higher education organisational elements; this classification mainly differs from the academic subject classification in this latter respect only. It covers 659 subject areas which describe the research fields, disciplines and/or scientific or research tasks or which are derived from these. These subject areas are comparable to the academic subjects contained in the student and examination statistics which, in accordance with the demands of higher education study, aggregate subject areas to a much greater extent.

Several related subject areas have been grouped together to form teaching and research areas, and these largely agree in terms of content with the study areas contained in the student and examination statistics. Contentually-related teaching and research areas have been grouped together to form 11 subject groups. These are, apart from the special consideration given to central facilities, identical with the 9 subject groups contained in the student and examination statistics.

The academic subject classification must be used per se for the analysis of the data from the official student and examination statistics. This academic subject classification is also used in "Wissenschaft weltoffen" to prepare and analyse the data on the exchange of academics and researchers which DZHW obtained from the funding organisations. The subject area classification, which is much more differentiated in the subjects it covers, is used here to recode the data which the funding organisations provided on the basis of their highly differing, institution-own subject classifications and to bring these into line with the subject classification of the student and examination statistics, so that they can be grouped and analysed together. And so both subject classifications have been combined.

"Wissenschaft weltoffen" contains analyses both at the level of study fields respectively teaching and research fields as well as subject groups. DZHW has no subject or subject area data from the official sets of student and examination statistics. Analysis requests in this field should be addressed to the Federal Statistical Office.

For analyses contained in "Wissenschaft weltoffen", DZHW used the 9 subject groups from the official higher education statistics and the 60 study areas.

The subject classification systems respectively the subject and subject area classifications can be found in the appendices to the following annually updated series published by the Federal Statistical Office:

  • Bildung und Kultur, Fachserie 11, Reihe 4.1 - Studierende an Hochschulen, annually updated edition on students in higher education
  • Bildung und Kultur, Fachserie 11, Reihe 4.2 - Prüfungen an Hochschulen, annually updated edition on academic degrees
  • Bildung und Kultur, Fachserie 11, Reihe 4.4 - Personal an Hochschulen, annually updated edition on staff in higher education

previous | next

Hinweis auf Druckansucht Printversion | Terms of use

go to english version

Fächersystematik

Die amtliche Hochschulstatistik arbeitet mit zwei Fächerschlüsseln, die sich hinsichtlich der Strukturierung der Fachinhalte nicht grundsätzlich unterscheiden. Beide Schlüssel haben drei Ebenen.

In der Studenten- und Prüfungsstatistik wird ein auf Studien- und Prüfungsordnungen fußender Studienfächerschlüssel verwendet. Er umfasst 291 Studienfächer. Inhaltlich verwandte Studienfächer sind in 60 Studienbereichen und inhaltlich verwandte Studienbereiche zu 9 Fächergruppen zusammengefasst.

In der Personal- und Stellenstatistik der amtlichen deutschen Hochschulstatistik wird ein aus Wissenschafts- und Forschungsdisziplinen abgeleiteter Fachgebietsschlüssel eingesetzt, der neben fachlichen auch hochschulorganisatorische Elemente enthält und sich nur diesbezüglich vor allem vom Studienfächerschlüssel unterscheidet. Er umfasst 659 Fachgebiete, die Forschungsfelder, Lehrfächer und/oder wissenschaftliche Aufgabengebiete bezeichnen bzw. daraus abgeleitet sind. Diese Fachgebiete sind vergleichbar mit den Studienfächern in der Studenten- und Prüfungsstatistik, die den Ansprüchen des Studiums entsprechend einen wesentlich höheren Aggregationsgrad der Fachrichtungen haben.

Mehrere verwandte Fachgebiete sind zu Lehr- und Forschungsbereichen zusammengefasst, die mit den Studienbereichen der Studenten- und Prüfungsstatistik weitgehend inhaltlich übereinstimmen. Inhaltlich benachbarte Lehr- und Forschungsbereiche sind zu 11 Fächergruppen zusammengefasst. Sie sind bis auf den gesonderten Ausweis von zentralen Einrichtungen identisch mit den 9 Fächergruppen der Studenten- und Prüfungsstatistik.

Für die Auswertung der Daten der amtlichen Studenten- und Prüfungsstatistik muss per se der Studienfächerschlüssel verwendet werden. Dieser Studienfächerschlüssel wird in "Wissenschaft weltoffen" auch für die Aufbereitung und die Auswertung der von DZHW bei Förderorganisationen erhobenen Daten zum Wissenschaftleraustausch verwendet. Der fachlich wesentlich differenziertere Fachgebietsschlüssel wird dabei genutzt, um die Daten der Förderorganisationen, die nach sehr unterschiedlichen institutseigenen Fächerschlüsseln bereitgestellt werden, auf den Fächerschlüssel der Studenten- und Prüfungsstatistik sachgerecht umzukodieren, damit sie zusammengefasst und gemeinsam ausgewertet werden können. Damit werden beide Fächerschlüssel miteinander verknüpft.

"Wissenschaft weltoffen" enthält Auswertungen sowohl auf der Ebene der Studienbereiche bzw. der Lehr- und Forschungsbereiche als auch der Fächergruppen. DZHW verfügt nicht über Fächer- bzw. Fachgebietsdaten der amtlichen Studenten- und Prüfungsstatistik. Entsprechende Auswertungswünsche sind an das Statistische Bundesamt zu richten.

DZHW hat für Auswertungen in "Wissenschaft weltoffen" die 9 Fächergruppen der amtlichen Hochschulstatistik und die 60 Studienbereiche verwendet.

Die Fächersystematiken bzw. Fächer- und Fachgebietsschlüssel sind im Anhang folgender Veröffentlichungsreihen des Statistischen Bundesamtes zu finden:

  • Bildung und Kultur, Fachserie 11, Reihe 4.1 - Studierende an Hochschulen, jeweils aktuellster Jahrgang
  • Bildung und Kultur, Fachserie 11, Reihe 4.2 - Prüfungen an Hochschulen, jeweils aktuellster Jahrgang
  • Bildung und Kultur, Fachserie 11, Reihe 4.4 - Personal an Hochschulen, jeweils aktuellster Jahrgang

vorheriger | nächster

Hinweis auf Druckansucht Druckansicht | Nutzungsbestimmungen